County Services           How Do I?     

About Ithaca-Tompkins County Transportation Council (ITCTC)


The ITCTC is your Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

Congress states the mission of an MPO as follows:

"It is in the national interest to encourage and promote the development of transportation systems embracing various modes of transportation in a manner which will efficiently maximize mobility of people and goods within and through urbanized areas and minimize transportation-related fuel consumption and air pollution. To accomplish this objective, metropolitan planning organizations, in cooperation with the State, shall develop transportation plans and programs for urbanized areas of the State. Such plans and programs shall provide for the development of transportation facilities (including pedestrian walkways and bicycle transportation facilities) which will function as an inter modal transportation system for the State, the metropolitan areas, and the Nation. The process for developing such plans and programs shall provide for consideration of all modes of transportation and shall be continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive to the degree appropriate, based on the complexity of the transportation problems."

photograph of 121 East Court Street building

Fernando de Aragón, Executive Director

121 East Court Street, 1st Floor,  Ithaca, NY 14850, 607-274-5570

The public entrance faces DeWitt Park; it is accessible by a ramp. A covered bike rack is available for public use.

We are open Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Our interior office door is locked, please enter the lobby and ring the doorbell to the left of our office door; a staff member will let you in.  Masks are optional but appreciated. 

Who we are

Unified Operations Plan, June 2023, the establishment of the ITCTC as well as the bylaws, policies, and procedures.

The Ithaca-Tompkins County Transportation Council (ITCTC) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for Tompkins County. The ITCTC is charged with facilitating county-wide transportation planning. 

MPO Structure

The ITCTC is structured at three levels: 

  • Transportation Policy Committee
  • Transportation Planning Committee
  • Central Staff

Transportation Policy Committee - the final MPO decision-making authority , composed of the primary elected official from each urbanized area member government (or such alternates as they may designate to serve as members in their stead) and a representative of the New York State Department of Transportation (which represents the Governor).

Transportation Planning Committee - responsible for coordinating and managing the area's transportation planning activities and providing technical advice to the Policy Committee. The Planning Committee is composed primarily of lead technical staff members from the member entities and local transit operators. All members are voting members except for the FHWA and FTA.

Support Staff - responsible for performing the administrative and technical services necessary to operate the MPO.

  • Executive Director
  • Administrative Assistant
  • Transportation Analyst
  • Project Assistant (intern), temporary position on an as-needed basis