## TOMPKINS COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE PERMIT CHARACTER REFERENCE

**NEW YORK** 

779 Warren Road Ithaca, NY 14850 Phone (607) 257-1345

Fax (607) 266-5436

You have signed as a Character Reference for the Pistol/Revolver and/or Semi-Automatic Rifle License

Application of:

As a reference, you must be at least 21 years of age, reside in Tompkins County, and you must have known the applicant for at least one year. References also cannot be related to the applicant or to one another.

Please print legibly, this form is also available on our website if you would prefer to type your responses, print the document, and return it to our office by mail or in person. Read and answer every question carefully and to the best of your ability. You may be contacted by a law enforcement officer to verify this information.

Please complete and return this form to our office: 779 Warren Road Ithaca, NY 14850, within 30 days. Thank you for your cooperation in the matter.

I,, depose and state that I am aware that the following questions are being asked in connection with the New York State Pistol/Revolver and/or Semi-Automatic Rifle License application and background investigation of	
1.	Your address:
2.	Your phone number:
3.	Your date of birth: Place of birth:
4.	Name and address of your employer:
5.	Do you have a pistol permit? Issuing County
6.	How long have you known the applicant?
7.	What is your relationship with the applicant?
8.	How often and under what circumstances do you have contact with the applicant?
9.	Is the applicant a person of good moral character?*Good moral character is defined in the NYS Penal Law as — "having the essential character, temperament and judgment necessary to be entrusted with a weapon and to use it only in a manner that does not endanger oneself or others"
10.	To your knowledge, has the applicant engaged in any illegal business?
11.	Does the applicant associate with persons of undesirable character?
12.	Has the applicant had any history of social or family problems?
13.	Are there any reasons that would make you hesitate to recommend the applicant as a person to possess a pistol?
14.	Would you, without reservation, recommend the applicant for a pistol permit?
Additional Information or Comments:	
False statements are punishable as a class A misdemeanor pursuant to sections 210.45 of the New York State Penal Law.	
Date: _	Signature: