HelpContact UsFOILSite Map

Custom Navigation

Living in Tompkins County linkLearning in Tompkins County linkVisiting Tompkins County linkBusiness in Tompkins County linkTompkins County Government link

Martha Robertson Elected Legislature Chair for 2018; Anna Kelles Elected Vice Chair

You are here:

You are here

> Martha Robertson Elected Legislature Chair for 2018; Anna Kelles Elected Vice Chair


The Greater Tompkins County Municipal Health Insurance Consortium is recruiting for a full-time Executive Director. More information HERE.

Tompkins County Highway seels qualified candidates for the position of Associate Civil Engineer.  Apply by January 31. More information HERE.

Injury from falling is a major risk for older adults and people with disabilities.  Click HERE to review information on how to prevent falls from the Office for the Aging.

The Health Department is providing flu vaccinations for adults at its building, 55 Brown Road, across from the Airport.  Call 274-6616 to schedule your appointment.  More information

previous next

Martha Robertson Elected Legislature Chair for 2018; Anna Kelles Elected Vice Chair

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Beginning the new four-year legislative term, the Tompkins County Legislature, in its annual reorganization meeting, elected Martha Robertson Chair or the Legislature for 2018, and Anna Kelles Vice Chair. Robertson was the only member nominated for Chair, and was elected by unanimous vote.

Martha Robertson has served on the Legislature since 2002, representing District 13 (Western part of the Town of Dryden), and is returning for a fifth one-year term as Chair of the Legislature, having previous served as Legislature Chair and Chair of the Tompkins County Industrial Development Agency from 2010 to 2013. Having chaired numerous committees of the Legislature over the years, Martha most recently, in 2016 and 2017, chaired the Planning, Development, and Environmental Quality Committee and the Program Oversight Committee of the Community Housing Development Fund. In 2017, she also served on the Public Safety, Old Library, and special Jail Study Committee.

Nominated for Vice Chair were Legislators Kelles and Dan Klein, who has served as Vice Chair for the past two years. Seven voted for Kelles and seven for Klein. Mr. Klein then withdrew his name from nomination and the subsequent re-vote was unanimous.

Vice Chair Kelles was first elected to the elected to the Legislature in November 2015 and is beginning her first full term on the Legislature, representing District 2 (City of Ithaca). She chaired the Legislature’s Health and Human Services Committee during 2017, and has also served on the Facilities and Infrastructure; Planning, Development, and Environmental Quality Committee; the Workforce Diversity and Inclusion Committee; Public Safety Committee; and the special Jail Study Committee.

Chair Robertson and Vice Chair Kelles both thanked their predecessors, Chair Michael Lane and Vice Chair Klein for their dedicated past service in those leadership positions—Lane for the past four years and Mr. Klein for two.

At the beginning of this first meeting of the new legislative term, County Clerk Maureen Reynolds administered the oath of office to all Legislators—including four new Legislators: Henry Granison, representing District 3 (City of Ithaca); Anne Koreman, representing District 5 (Town of Ulysses and portions of the Towns of Enfield and Ithaca); Deborah Dawson, representing District 10 (Villages of Lansing and Cayuga Heights; and Amanda Champion, representing District 12 (Town of Ithaca