HelpContact UsFOILSite Map

Custom Navigation

Living in Tompkins County linkLearning in Tompkins County linkVisiting Tompkins County linkBusiness in Tompkins County linkTompkins County Government link

You are here:

You are here

> Legislature - Legislators - Kiefer

Contact Information


Governor Daniel D. Tompkins Building
121 E. Court Street
Ithaca, NY  14850
(607) 274-5434
Email Us

View Full Info and Map

Tompkins County Legislator

Pat Pryor

Dooley Kiefer (D)
District 10 - Village of Lansing, Village of Cayuga Heights



Contact Information for Legislators




 Dooley Kiefer brings an environmental and social justice perspective to the Legislature, as well as a “good government” approach from her years of work with the League of Women Voters. In the 1960s and ’70s, she helped to block a nuclear and later a larger coal-fired power plant on Cayuga Lake. On the County Legislature since 1994, Kiefer engineered a land policy that ascertains and protects the natural, historic, or cultural resources of any land the County owns, acquires, or sells. More recently she focused on having solar panels added to the new County library--the first time Tompkins County has invested in using clean, renewable energy to generate electricity. She spearheaded the first-time codification of County laws and, in 2002, the County adoption of the Neighbor Notification Law for Pesticides. She strongly supported modernizing the County's emergency communications system and hopes the County can be part of New York's new statewide interoperable system. She is an informed critic of State Environmental Quality Review (SEQR) regulations and processes. Other Legislature issues of interest to Kiefer are requiring a fair wage for County contract workers, data available on the Internet consistent with the need to protect the personal privacy of County residents. Previously, Kiefer was on the boards of the Village of Cayuga Heights and the Town of Ithaca and belongs to many environmental, consumer, civil liberties, and humanitarian groups. She has lived in the County for over 50 years. 
Legislators are elected and serve for four years. Current terms run from 2014 through 2017.