
 
                                       T

                                                     

Frequently Asked Questions 

If You Are a Victim of Discrimination Call the Human Rights Commission
Office:  120 West State Street, Ithaca, NY 14850 | B: (607) 277-4080 | F: (607) 277-4106 

What is the Tompkins County Human Rights Commission ("TCHRC")? 
The department is a neutral county agency that investigates charges of illegal discrimination. 

What type of cases fall under the jurisdiction of the Commission (TCHRC)? 
TCHRC has jurisdiction to investigate cases in the following subject-matter areas: credit, education, 
employment, housing, and public accommodation. 
 
What is a protected class?   
Although discrimination may occur in various forms, TCHRC has jurisdiction under Tompkins County Anti-
Discrimination Law, State, and Federal law to file complaints on the following basis: age, arrest/conviction 
record, disability, familial status, gender identity and expression, genetic disposition, carrier status, 
marital status, national origin, race/color, religion, sex, and sexual orientation.  New York State Human 
Rights Law and Federal Civil Rights Law does not include gender identity and expression as a protected 
class, and federal law does not include sexual orientation as a protected class.  
 
What is TCHRC's statutory authority? 
New York Municipal Law, Article 12D, Tompkins County Local Law 290 (1963), and Tompkins County 
Anti-Discrimination Law.  Also, the New York State Division of Human Rights Law, Article 15 and 
applicable federal civil rights laws.  

What is the statute of limitation for filing a charge? 
The statute of limitation for filing a charge under the TCHRC is one year from the date of the incident.  

Do I need an attorney to file a charge with the department? 
You do not need to have an attorney, however you may choose to hire an attorney at any time during 
the process. 

Do I need to make an appointment to see speak with a member of TCHRC? 
No, we accept walk-ins during our normal business hours: 9 AM to 4:30 PM. After the initial intake 
application is completed, TCHRC will schedule a follow-up appointment to discuss the details of your 
case.  At that time, TCHRC asked that you provide any additional documentation that supports the 
allegation made in your complaint; and the names, titles, addresses, and phone numbers of all persons 
alleged to have discriminated against you.    

If I'm disabled or unable to come into the office what are my options?   
If you are unable to file a complaint in person, call the office, explain the details, and request that a 
complaint be prepared and forwarded to you for review and notarized signature.  

What is the cost of filing a charge? 
There is no cost to the Charging Party (the person filing the charge). 

How old do I have to be to file a charge of discrimination? 
At TCHRC, a person may file and sign of complaint if they are at least age of majority (18), or a parent or 
guardian may file on their behalf if they are under the age of 18.   
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How long will the process take? 
The department has 180 days to make a determination. The time limit can be suspended if parties are 
participating in alternative dispute resolution sanctioned by TCHRC.  The case may also be extended 
beyond the 180 days statute of limitations to allow ample time to complete an investigation.   

Do I have to file with the State Division of Human Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission (EEOC) separately? 
No, TCHRC is authorized through a memorandum-of-understanding to file a complaint on your behalf 
with the State Division of Human Rights and EEOC for employment based discrimination cases.  

I received an Equal Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC") notification of cross-
filing letter? What does this letter mean? 
The state and federal agencies can accept charges for each other when both have jurisdiction. A charge 
filed with the state Human Rights Department or with EEOC will be "cross-filed" with the other, so that 
only one agency investigates the claim.  In general, cases filed by TCHRC, will be investigated by TCHRC. 
The exception to this rule, are cases that will be considered a conflict of interest. 

What happens next? 
TCHRC will draft and file a complaint of discrimination on your behalf, and notifies the Respondent.  The 
Respondent is a person or entity about whose action you complain.   

What happens during an investigation? 
TCHRC investigates through appropriate methods such as written inquiry, field investigations, fact-finding 
interviews/interrogatories, or conferences.  If there is a finding of no probable cause or lack of 
jurisdiction, the complainant may appeal to the State Supreme Court within 60 days.  If there is a 
finding of probable cause the case will be calendared for a public hearing.  

What happens if the department makes a probable cause finding? 
The department will attempt to settle the matter through conciliation. If the parties are not able to agree 
on a settlement, the case will be heard before an Administrative Law Judged assigned by the New York 
State Division of Human Rights.   

What happens at the public hearing? 
The New York State Division of Human Rights General Counsel department will assign an attorney to 
represent you or you may elect to retain outside counsel.  A Notice of Hearing is issued to all parties.  
The case may be adjourned only for good cause.  An Administrative Law Judge presides over the hearing.  
The proposed order is prepared and approved by the Commissioner of the State Division of Human 
Rights.  
 
How long does the hearing usually last? 
The hearing may last one or more days, not always consecutive. 
 
What can the Commissioner impose in an Order?   
A Commissioner's Order can either dismiss the complaint or find discrimination.  In the latter case, it 
orders the respondent to cease and desist and take appropriate action.  The Division may order damages 
and/or back pay.   
 
Can I appeal if I disagree with the Commissioner's Order? 
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Yes, The Commissioner's Order may be appealed by either party to the State Supreme Court within 60 
days. 


	Frequently Asked Questions
	If You Are a Victim of Discrimination Call the Human Rights Commission

