HelpContact UsFOILSite Map

Custom Navigation

Living in Tompkins County linkLearning in Tompkins County linkVisiting Tompkins County linkBusiness in Tompkins County linkTompkins County Government link

You are here:

You are here

> Environmental Management Council - Members

Contact Information

c/o TC Planning & Sustainability Department
121 E. Court Street
Ithaca, New York 14850
(607) 274-5560
Email Us

View Full Info and Map

EMC Members

The EMC is composed of the following voting members appointed by the County Legislature: 12 at-large members and 16 municipal members (one designated by each municipality in Tompkins County). Members serve two-year terms. The EMC also has associate (non-voting) members who are appointed by the Council to lend expertise to committees as needed.

Members represent diverse interests and expertise, and they all share an interest in protecting the environment. Members maintain an understanding and awareness of local environmental issues and foster communication among the Council, County, local governments, and community at large. Each municipal member also advises the Council on environmental matters in their municipalities and areas of expertise.

Name Membership Type Committees
Steve Bissen Town of Dryden UNA
Brian Eden (chair) Village of Cayuga Heights Climate Adaptation, Environmental Review, Executive, UNA
Bill Evans (vice chair) Town of Danby Executive, Environmental Review
Pegi FIcken Town of Groton Environmental Review, Climate Adaptation
Michelle Henry Town of Newfield Climate Adaptation, UNA
John Hertzler Town of Ulysses Strategic Planning
James Knighton At-Large Climate Adaptation
Vladimir Micic Town of Ithaca (Conservation Board)  
Stephen Nicholson (vice chair) Town of Caroline Executive, UNA
Susan Riley At-Large Outreach/Communications
Tom Shelley (vice chair) City of Ithaca CAC Climate Adaptation, Environmental Review, Execuitve, Outreach/Communications, Strategic Planning
Linda Spielman Village of Dryden UNA
Dooley Kiefer Legislature Liasion  
Susan Allen-Gil Associate  Climate Adaptation
Karen Edelstein Associate UNA
Anna Kelles Associate  Strategic Planning
Dan Klein Associate  
Jose Lozano Associate  
Osamu Tsuda Associate Climate Adaptation
David Weinstein Associate UNA
Robert Wesley Associate UNA
Roger Yonkin Associate Environmental Review